Ķempe Evangelical Lutheran Church
The Ķempe Wooden Church was first mentioned in 1669, and later in 1789 as the Chapel of St Ignatius in the Sigulda Parish. Originally located 2 km from the Jaunķempe Manor, near the current site, a new stone church was built in 1841 with the support of the von Uexküll family, owners of the manor, and was consecrated on 14 September.
According to notes by parish clerk Jānis Leikarts from 1900, the church’s altar painting was consecrated on 6 January 1849. On 10 May 1873, a devastating storm destroyed the church almost entirely. In early 1882, the influential Wolf family, who owned Jaunķempe Manor since 1856, financed the construction of a new stone church. This building was consecrated on 31 October 1882 and still stands today.
The church exterior is accessible at any time. For interior visits, please arrange in advance by phone.
Worship Services: Every Sunday at 13:00.




